Whey

Whey is a protein.

  • Whey is the watery part of milk that remains after the formation of curds.

In other words, it is the milk serum (liquid) that remains after milk has been curdled and strained.

“Whey is a co-product of milk production. It is one of the components that separates from milk after curdling , when rennet or an edible acidic substance is added.”

The clot, or curd formed by rennet is sold commercially as cottage cheese.

  • Whey contains lactose and should be avoided by individuals who are lactose intolerant.

Dried whey, commonly used as a food additive, contains 70% or more lactose than wet. This means that it is even less tolerated by those unable to digest lactose.

Allergy or intolerance to whey or lactose is common. Milk allergy affects the immune system, while lactose intolerance disrupts only the digestive system.

Whey is found not only in milk but also hidden in many processed foods.

Whey Protein is derived from whey. Whey Protein is a mixture of globular proteins isolated from whey. Whey Protein is marketed as a dietary or nutritional supplement.

Source: Wikipedia

Read this: The Poison Protein by Rachel Meeks

How do you fuel?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s